Feeling Lippy

I’m feeling a bit under the weather at the moment, so I popped into the local Lloyd’s Pharmacy for some medicine and a bit of a pick-me-up. There’s not a lot of browsing to do in such a tiny place, with two tiny make-up stands wedged in the corner by the till, but I managed to find a couple of things I wanted. At first, I thought I’d buy the glitteriest nail polish I’d ever seen (Rimmel’s “Disco Ball”), but instead I ended up with these:

My treats! Nivea Pearl and Shine lipbalm and Max Factor Lipfinity Lip Tint in Royal Plum

I wanted a new lipbalm to replace the various ancient and weirdly flavoured ones that have been knocking around for years. Does anyone actually ever finish a lipbalm? I think I usually just throw them away when they get gross…

My lip balms: the new Nivea, an aforementioned ancient one, and this pretty shell compact with lipbalm inside.

Anyway, I liked the look of the Pearly Shine – I had one of these about six years ago, when it was Pearl and Shine. I love the smell and that it’s got an SPF, although I’m going to have to be careful applying it as the colour is less subtle than I remember.

Anyway, lipbalm is lipbalm. Far more exciting is the Lip Tint pen. I haven’t ever really done fashion lip colour, mostly sticking to two basic lipsticks:

My (rather messy, sorry) scarlet, from Miss Sporty, called Dream, and No7 lipstick in Chic (pretty much the same colour as my lips).

I had to retire the bright red lippy to costume wear when I dyed my hair pillarbox red, because I was always paranoid that I’d clash, or worse, smudge it all over my face until I looked like a crazed mid-feed lion.

So that’s where the lip stain pens come in. When I dyed my hair back to brown a few weeks ago, it’s made me feel much pale, which I love, so I had a bit of a rethink of my make-up. I bought the Revlon Just Bitten lip stain pen in Twilight, a darkish purple-y pink, and loved it (although the balm it comes with is rubbish and broke on the first application). I love that I can just colour in my lips, rather than paint them precisely; I love that there’s no transference of colour; I love that the colour stays all day; and most of all, I love that I can put it on and forget about it, no worries.

I wanted to try some other colours, and the Lipfinity pen I bought is a bright reddy pink, despite the name ‘Royal Plum’. It’s a little overwhelming at first, but I liked it more after I’d blotted the colour down a little. That was about an hour ago, and it doesn’t seem to be as hard-wearing as the Revlon – I’ve had a drink, tried the Nivea balm and licked my lips a lot in the last hour, but look at it! Smells good though, like berries.

Max Factor Lipfinity Lip Tint in Royal Plum, freshly applied.

After an hour – almost gone!

My lipstains, my one lipgloss tube (Soap and Glory SMP in Pink Apricot), and a pot of gloss/balm that is so old it has no name.

I actually quite like the faded colour, but what you can’t see from my blurry picture is how feathered and patchy the colour is. Looks like this might not be a leave-all-day stain, but I’ve topped it up and will keep checking how it goes.

I hate the sticky shiny feel and look of proper lipgloss, so I never buy it. This Soap and Glory Sexy MotherPucker came in the giant tote bag from Christmas 2010. I do like the tingly plumping feeling, but hate the glossy look, so I usually put it on to do its magic, then take it off before I go out. The little pot (which is not at all sticky or shiny, more like a balm) I think was a present from my aunt a long long long time ago, possibly even before I hit my teens. I love it, it smells delicious!

I know I have one more lipstick somewhere, again in a dark heather-y plum sort of colour, which I love. It’s from Miss Sporty, so it’s quite sheer like all the new formulations (my scarlet is older, and very creamy), and it smells of grapefruit! I have to say, I’m a sucker for a nice smelling product.

I’m definitely going to try more of the lip stain pens in other colours, but I’ll probably stick to the Revlon Just Bitten pens since I know they work well. I’ll also be picking up more of the Miss Sporty lipsticks, which are definitely the best I’ve tried and are great value at just £1.99! I’m really enjoying experimenting with lip colour after leaving my lips bare for so long. Have you tried any of the lip stains? What do you think is the best product for long lasting colour?

Say hello - it'll make my day!

