Something(s) borrowed…

I’m the first to admit I have a bit of a book addiction. I love everything about books: the stories they have to tell, the feel of them in my hands, the smell – new or old!, the way they look in stacks and on shelves… Pretty much everything. I also love acquiring them, and since I’m not rich enough to buy all the books I want, I end up borrowing quite a few.

I borrowed lots of books from my best friend to read in the holidays. However, it’s now the end of summer and I’m heading back to Oxford in a little under two weeks, and I’ve only read a few – my own huge TBR (to be read) pile sort of got in the way… This is what I have left to read from the things I borrowed from Emily:

 

The third book in the Song of Ice and Fire series, and the first three Joe Abercrombie books.

Last week I also borrowed some books from Boyfriend’s housemate (ostensibly so he didn’t have to move them to the new house, really because I am a book magpie), so I should also read those quite soon:

Kim Newman’s take on Sherlock Holmes, The Hound of the D’Urbervilles – I’ll be pleased if it’s as fun as Anno Dracula was, with its total mashup of Victorian literature. And Blackout, which seems to be an Oxonian time-travel novel, and which I’ve been meaning to read for a while.

Of course, my book addiction started at home, with my similarly book-loving mother, and we’ve always shared books. She’s lent me books which have turned out to be my very favourites, and which I’ve bought my own copies of for when I’m not at home.

The trouble with our book swapping, though, is that she somehow manages never to have a ridiculous TBR pile like mine (the most hers will hit is about 15, mine is currently at 164). So she reads the books I lend her straight away, whereas I still have tons of things she probably lent me years ago. I’d like to get a lot of these read before I go back, just because I know how much I hate it when my books are out of my hands.

This is what I currently have from her in the TBR pile of doom (there’s definitely others tucked away on my shelves):

The Winter King by Bernard Cornwell and The White Raven by Dianna L. Paxson, both from my original King Arthur phase several years ago; Magician by Raymond E. Feist, from my introduction to fantasy lit even earlier than that; the first book of Robin Hobb’s newest series, and a non-fiction book about the birth of the detective and detective fiction. These last two were at least lent to me this year!

That’s quite a lot to read in the next ten days – I think I’ll focus on the books in the top picture, since they were given to me a while ago, and the newer books Mum has lent me, since she probably doesn’t remember that I have the others!

Does anyone else stash books quite so much? Even now, when I know exactly how many hundreds I actually have in my room that need to be read, I can’t help but browse the bookshops and libraries and buy and borrow even more!

I just really like books…

 

 

Say hello - it'll make my day!

