February Empties

This is a very Nivea-heavy post, for some reason!

Soap and Glory Scrub Your Nose in It

Soap and Glory Scrub Your Nose in It, 125ml

Soap and Glory’s Scrub Your Nose in It is a minty, bright green scrub and exfoliating mask – you can use it just as a normal scrub, or leave it on longer for a mask. This is a really nice product, and one that’s lasted me nearly a year, with a good 6 months of twice weekly scrubs and once a week full-face mask. It’s very very scrubby, so not good for those with sensitive skin, but I like a rougher scrub so that I feel like it’s cleansing! This suffered in comparison to St Ives’ Apricot Scrub, which has become my Holy Grail scrub for normal use, and so for the last few months this has been used just for masks. I’m not sure that it’s “pore-refining” or whether I’ve looked “more radiant”, but it is a nice exfoliator. I got this in the big Christmas bundle (The “Pink Big” Tote) in 2010, which I paid £25 for. A tube of this currently retails at £7.50. I probably wouldn’t buy this again, because I like St Ives much better, and it’s half the price.

Nivea Soft, 200ml

Nivea Soft, 200ml

I was given this by my mum, who was on the search for a new moisturiser, and bought this only to discover that she couldn’t stand the smell. To me, it just smells clean – there’s a slight baby powder-ish smell, but nothing too strong. This isn’t a very exciting moisturiser, but it gets things done. I liked it, but I prefer a thicker body butter (or even the original dark blue Nivea cream), while this was like a very thick body lotion in a pot. I wouldn’t buy it again, but it wasn’t bad. This is currently in Boots for £4.28.

Nivea Essential Care Lip Balm, 4.8g

Nivea Essential Care Lip Balm, 4.8g

This is one of the lip balms I got in this set in September, and I’ve just used it up today. This was my least favourite of the four, because after about three weeks of use, the texture of it changed completely, from a solid lip balm to a squidgy Vaseline-type texture, which meant that it couldn’t really be used as a stick balm, but had to be applied by dabbing. I always got too much, which I think is why I’ve used this one up first! I didn’t like this at all (and I used the last centimetre or so as heel cream!) and I wouldn’t recommend it, but no other Nivea balm I’ve ever had has done that, so it might just be a funny one. I got this as part of a 4 for £4 deal, but on its own this sells for £1.65.

Nivea Happy Time Shower Cream, 250ml

Nivea Happy Time Shower Cream, 250ml

I picked Happy Time up along with Free Time when searching for a new shower gel, and all Nivea body wash was £1 in Boots. Although I adore Orange Blossom scents, I found this one rather lacklustre, more orange squash than sunny Mediterranean landscape. I much prefer Free Time, which has a very intriguing green smell. I also think I prefer a clear shower gel to a creamy one, just for feeling cleaner (which is silly). I would happily use this again for £1, but perhaps not for £1.95, its usual price – it’s still on offer at Boots at the moment, but I’ve got plenty of shower gel at the moment!

What’s the best shower gel scent you’ve tried? I really like Lush’s Flying Fox for an evening shower, but I need something citrus or minty for the morning to wake me up!

Asha x

Say hello - it'll make my day!

