Review: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Crush

DSCF0172I know, these are everywhere on beauty blogs, I’m very behind the times. But since discovering the Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains, I’ve fallen in love! I popped into Boots yesterday and picked this one up with my points, and I’m wishing I’d bought another colour too…

I absolutely adore the formula of these balm stains – I like their lasting power, I like the minty scent, I like the feel of them on my lips (they just feel like balm, not lipgloss). These are so easy to apply and wear that they suit me down to a T: I don’t like having to check my make-up every ten minutes, and I trust these to wear evenly down to the stain, rather than getting that weird ring around the edges. Application of Crush is a little trickier than Romantic (the red balm), since the colour is darker, so I wouldn’t apply this without a mirror as I do with Romantic, and it’s also worth bearing in mind (for both colours) that they do transfer quite a bit onto cups and hands.

Crush is a darkish purple-y pink, which can be layered from a sheer wash of pinkish colour to a block, dark purple. I cannot for the life of me get this to read true in photos: it comes out very very fuchsia in every photo I’ve taken, while I assure you that in the mirror, it’s a darker pink, more of a berry tone. Terrible collage ahoy:

crush swatch

It’s not ideal for spring, given the darkness of the tone, but would work beautifully for an autumn/winter lip, and to be honest, we’re not exactly having spring weather! I’m glad to have this in my make up bag; it will blend in beautifully with my everyday make up.

Are you a fan of these Revlon Balm Stains? Ooh, and since I now know how strangely these photograph, can anyone tell me if there is a fuchsia/bright pink? Lovesick looked a bit Barbie-pink for me, but it might come out darker like this one does…

Asha x

3 thoughts on “Review: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Crush

    • Your swatches convinced me I could pull Crush off, it looked so pretty! I’ve yet to try mixing it with Romantic, though.
      I’ll have a look at Lovesick next time I’m in Boots – I really want one that is actually the colour that this one looks in photos 🙂 What do you think of Honey? I’m scared it’ll be too pale for me…

  1. Pingback: Another small haul | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!

