Review: L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream

handcream

Oh wow. I’d pretty much written off hand cream as something I didn’t need, want, or even like, after years of faffing around with overly-greasy creams like the Neutrogena Norwegian Hand Cream, or the non-moisturising Soap and Glory Hand Food. Then along came this little freebie with one of my mum’s magazines, which she passed on to me, and I fell in love.

I’d been hearing about this for years on the internet, but always thought meh, how good can it be? Very, very good is the answer. This is a very thick cream, almost a butter consistency, and it is totally non-greasy. I find I can use my iPhone after applying this without leaving any trace of oil on the screen. The smell was a little off-putting at first, very baby-powdery and quite strong, but I don’t hate it, and I’ve certainly become used to it with frequent application. This 10ml tube lasted me around 2 and a half to 3 months, so I don’t think that ยฃ8 for 30ml is too steep a price, although I may be more liberal with it if I can’t see it reducing quite so quickly!

My hands simply soak this up, and always feel much better after I’ve used it – I peeled potatoes in a sink of ice-cold water for an hour yesterday, and where that used to leave my skin cracked and sore, my hands feel completely normal today. The high shea butter content of this cream (20% as opposed to a more usual 10%) means that it’s incredibly moisturising, and also that you can feel that soothing effect straightaway, unlike most other hand creams. This hand cream is spectacular, and it’s become a real Holy Grail product for me from the very first use.

As you can see, I’ve used this tube almost to the very end, and I’m dreading being without it, so I’m trying to eke it out until Friday, when hopefully Mum and I are off to the Bicester shopping centre, where there’s a L’Occitane outlet. I quite fancy trying some of the floral scented varieties (they do a rose one, hurrah!) or even the honey one, although I think the packaging of that one is a little bit childish.

Have you tried this hand cream? Do you have a holy grail hand cream?

Asha x

6 thoughts on “Review: L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream

  1. I have tried a little sample of this and thought it was nice. Hand creams are great for keeping on your desk, I find. I have to say though, my holy grail hand cream is a Neom one – it smells gorgeous like a bouquet of flowers. It’s a violet one which is really unusual.

  2. Pingback: March Empties | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!

