Review: Urban Decay Smoked 24/7 Glide-on Eye Pencil Set

Look at these beauties! I’m so excited to have these! IMG_1789First of all, apologies, I’m still using my iPhone to take pictures because there’s STILL no sign of my camera charger!

I absolutely love Urban Decay’s eyeliner pencils, ever since I got my first two in the NYC palette. I’ve used Zero, the black pencil, nearly every day for two years, and it’s only just gotten down to the sort of stubby length that makes it hard to use, even though it’s a mini size. My wonderful mum bought me the Smoked Eyeshadow palette for Christmas, and that contained a full-sized pencil in Perversion, a blacker-than-black which is utterly gorgeous, but more suited to a heavy look than my normal quick slick of smudged black, so I was still wanting to replace my Zero pencil. I also wanted to pick up a brown eye pencil from Urban Decay, after getting frustrated with the less creamy high street browns I’d been making do with.

So, I was all set to spend £28 buying two full sized pencils, one in Zero and one in Demolition or Bourbon. Then I saw a post by the beautiful Niina at Kingdom of Tides about this little set, which is only £16 for six mini pencils, instead of £26 – that’s fantastic value, considering how long the mini pencils last (they are 75% of the full size). So I popped over to lookfantastic.com and picked this up immediately as an early birthday present to myself. I’d really recommend you go and grab this set before it sells out, if you’re a fan of Urban Decay Eye Pencils.

IMG_1790

And really, everyone should be a fan! This set has a gorgeous range of colours, including two limited edition shades.

Mainline – dark teal, almost slate blue

Empire – blackened purple, almost aubergine

Smog – bronzey-copper with gold shimmer

Demolition – coffee brown

Zero – creamy black

Uzi – pewter gray with silver shimmer

Mainline and Empire are exclusive to this set. While Empire is quite similar to Ransom, a slightly brighter purple from the Urban Decay NYC palette, I’ve not seen anything like Mainline before, and since I adore teal, it’s something that really makes this set special for me. I’m also excited about Smog, which is my favourite eyeshadow colour from Urban Decay, and I can’t wait to use the two together. Apparently Uzi was discontinued, then brought back for this set due to demand, and I can see why – the shimmer makes it a really warm, deep, wearable grey, where it could have been very cold. The jewel colours work beautifully with the Smoked Eyeshadow palette from the same collection (as you would imagine!).

IMG_1793

Mainline, Empire, Smog, Demolition, Zero, Uzi

What I like best about these eye pencils is that they almost have a dual personality. On application, they smudge beautifully for a gorgeous smoky look, but once you have finished your make up, they don’t budge until you’re ready to take them off, meaning no panda eyes or accidental smudge-wings. If you favour a very neat, tight line, they do that too with the same tenacity. I don’t know how they do it, but it is incredible. 

The packaging itself is very slick and modern, very simple compared to UD’s normal loud packaging, but I’m not sure yet whether I will keep the pencils in their pretty little house on my dressing table, or add them to my make up bag for on the go. 

IMG_1815

I am utterly thrilled with this set, so thank you Niina for pointing it out to me! 

Will anyone else be picking up this set? I can’t recommend it enough, and the delivery from Lookfantastic was super quick (ordered on Friday, came on Wednesday, bank holiday weekend in between!) and free! 

Asha x

 

6 thoughts on “Review: Urban Decay Smoked 24/7 Glide-on Eye Pencil Set

  1. Pingback: Review: Urban Decay Smoked Eyeshadow Palette | The Oxford Owl

  2. Pingback: What’s In My Make Up Bag? | The Oxford Owl

  3. Pingback: Review: Urban Decay Black Market 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil Set | The Oxford Owl

  4. Pingback: Review: Urban Decay Ocho Loco 2 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil Set | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!

