My Rose Obsession

Hello! I’m writing this post from my room in Oxford; I am once again properly an Oxford owl. To make my tiny room look a little brighter, lovely Boyfriend bought me some beautiful sweetheart roses, which inspired me to show my little collection of rose products.

DSCF0256

I have a small obsession with rose scents and rose colors and roses in general. I’m really looking forward to growing roses in my garden, when I have one, and I can see the college rose garden from my window (although it’s a little bit dead at the moment). In the meantime, I’m making do with rose beauty things!

DSCF0203

And here they all are! Some coloured, some scented, and my favourite tea thrown in for good measure!

DSCF0207L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream in Rose Petals. My favourite hand cream in my favourite scent. I don’t know if this particular one is still available, as it was in a LE set, but I know L’Occitane do a couple of rose scents, so you might be able to find something similar.

Aromatherapy Associates Triple Rose Renewing Moisturiser. This is a freebie with this month’s Red magazine, apparently worth £27! Unfortunately, though, I found it quite disappointing, as it smells a lot more like frankincense than rose. I like Red, so I’m not too fussed about having spent the money on it.

Nivea Lip Balm in Soft Rosé. Nivea lip balms really seem to work for my lips, and this is a nice, glossy, slightly rose-scented balm. You can definitely get these in Superdrug and probably in Boots, for around the £1.50 to £2 mark.

DSCF0214Sleek Blush in Rose Gold. You’ve seen this in a recent haul, and hopefully I’ll be doing a proper review on it in a little while, but so far, so good with this peachy-pinky-gold toned blush. I really enjoy wearing it.

Bourjois Little Round Pot Blush in Rose Ambré. This, too, was in a haul post. It’s a little darker than the Sleek blush, more of a dusky, dusty rose colour, which I think will be perfect for autumn, or even summer with a light hand. It’s matte and very pigmented, and I think it was a good choice for my freebie (offer in Superdrug is still on, spend £12 on Bourjois and get one of these free!). I do want to pick up the Cendre de Rose Brune one too.

DSCF0217

Twinings Rose Garden Tea. This is heavenly. Go drink it. Around £2.20 a box.

Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine in Pomegranate. Okay, so not a rose-named product, but one that is the perfect rose colour. It reminds me of a full-blown, blowsy red-pink rose, rather than a demure pinky rosebud. Having said that, it’s a very similar colour to the little roses that Boyfriend bought me! These are £3.99 each, but are currently on 3 for 2 in Boots and Superdrug.

DSCF0237Of course there’s something from Lush…

DSCF0261

Rose Queen bath bomb and Pop in the Bath bubble bar. There’s not actually rose in the bubble bar, but it smells so rosy to me! You can’t beat Lush for beautiful scents.

DSCF0271

And last but certainly not least, my favourite rosé wine, Silver Bay Point! This tastes like strawberries and not really like wine at all! I always stock up when it’s in Tesco, because it’s usually less than £4 a bottle, which is fab.

I know some people aren’t crazy about rose scents, saying they’re too grannyish, but I think that the right sort of rose scent can just be really fresh and pretty. Where do you lie on the scale? Are you a rose lover or a rose hater?

Asha x

10 thoughts on “My Rose Obsession

  1. Estée Lauder has a Perfum called Beautiful that is really well Rose scented (and well I love it). Try checking it on, the scent of it is strong, so it’s more of a night scent, but is magical.

  2. Twinnings rose tea is my favourite too. Reminds me of Turkish delight. I love a rose scent, i have a full bottle of Rose water in my kitchen for when I decide to be adventurous but I still end up just giving it a sniff and putting it back in the cupboard! he he 🙂

Say hello - it'll make my day!

