Review: Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation and Concealer

It seems like everyone on the planet loves this foundation, and I have to say, I’m no exception. I’ve been using Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation and Concealer for a little over a week now, and I’m so impressed by it, I thought it was about time for a little review!

DSCF0305

I’ve been wearing foundation for about 4 years. I’m lucky in that I’ve always had clear skin, but it’s quite dull and I always have big blue circles under my eyes, so I like to have something to pep me up a little. I was a devotee of mousse foundation (L’Oreal Matte Morphose, or Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse) just for ease of application, but over time I’ve moved from the mid-range shades down to the very lightest they do, and they still looked very very orange and thick on me.

So, it was time to move on. And that’s where Healthy Mix comes in. I was looking for something with light to mid coverage, and a separate, mid to heavy concealer for under my eyes – and of course, something pale enough! I spent a half hour or so swatching lots of different kinds of foundation in Superdrug, and this is what I decided on, impressed by its anti-fatigue claims.

DSCF0340

Now you see it…

...now you don't!

…now you don’t!

Both the foundation and concealer (left and right respectively in the swatches) are perfect matches for my skin once blended in – I have shade 51, Vanille Claire, in both, which I think is the lightest they do. The foundation smells wonderfully like sun cream, all apricot-ty and sweet, which makes it really nice to apply in the morning. I’ve not tried liquid foundation before, but I find it really easy to apply, even without a decent foundation brush – I just use my fingers and it all blends in nicely. The pump dispenses the perfect amount to cover my face, and it’s really easy to control to get less out.

The foundation won’t win any awards for coverage, but then I really don’t think that’s its purpose. It minimises any redness I have, and brightens up my skin, while still looking like… well, my skin. I could probably get away with telling people I have no foundation on, this is so effective! It has a semi-matte finish which is very similar to actual skin; I find I need to powder my nose, but the finish is just right everywhere else. The concealer covers up any blue circles really nicely, but also blends out so it can’t be seen against the foundation or your skin.

I am so, so impressed with Healthy Mix overall! 10/10 from me, and a definite permanent addition to my make up bag. Even more spectacular is the price, £10.99 for the foundation and £7.49 for the concealer.

Have you tried this? Do you think it’s as great as I do?

Asha x

10 thoughts on “Review: Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation and Concealer

  1. I love it too! I bought the next shade up which was slightly too dark but it blends in just fine. I really like the texture of the foundation :).

    • Yes, it’s really easy to work with, isn’t it? I was a bit scared of it the first time I used it, but it just feels so nice! And I’m thrilled beyond words that it doesn’t make me orange – is the 52 also a nice tone? I might need to go up one if I get any sunshine this summer 😛

      • It’s really nice, I’ve never used a gel ish foundation but I’m impressed by it!

        52 isn’t bad actually, I usually wear the palest shades in foundation and picked this up by mistake but this is quite good for when I (ever) get a bit of colour from the sun. Not too orange either (I hope!). 🙂

  2. Pingback: Mini Makeup Haul! | Little luxuries

  3. Pingback: Outfit of the Day: 4th and 5th of September | The Oxford Owl

  4. Pingback: What’s In My Make Up Bag? | The Oxford Owl

  5. Pingback: The Starting Off Project: Week 3, Foundation! | The Oxford Owl

  6. Pingback: Outfit of the Day: 29th March | The Oxford Owl

  7. Pingback: Outfit of the Day: 30th March | The Oxford Owl

  8. Pingback: Outfit of the Day: 2nd April | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!

