Review: Lush Brazened Honey Face Mask

DSCF0435Does anyone else procrastinate by applying beauty products? I need to finish an essay today, but somehow I just can’t possibly do that without my face being reeeeaally soft. And that’s where this comes in!

Lush’s Brazened Honey Face Mask is one of their fresh face masks, which means you need to keep it in the fridge. It claims to be an ‘exfoliating, stimulating and nourishing mask for tired skins’, which sounds perfect given my dull, sleepy skin after nearly three years at Oxford. I’ve been using this once or twice a week for about a month, now, and I still have about half of the pot left – either I have an exceedingly small face, or Lush is very generous with these masks, because I haven’t exactly been using it lightly!DSCF0438

I had taken a picture of my face all coated in this, but when it came time to edit my photos, I just realised that they all looked really disgusting, so here is my hand. The texture of this is thick and slightly gritty, rather like microwave porridge when you’ve cooked it a little too long – the fact that it lives in the fridge makes it really cold on your face at first, too! As it dries, it sort of balls up into little crusts – the only way I can explain it is that it’s like when you make bread by hand, and the dough sort of clings to your knuckles and starts to dry? If I’m making this sound gross… well, it is a bit.

BUT. I do really like this product. It has a sort of spicy honey smell, which I personally like, but both my dad and Boyfriend have commented is rather overpowering. Once all the porridgey sort of mixture is on your face, it starts to warm up so it’s not so fridge-cold, and it feels really soft from the inside, whatever kind of lagoon monster you look like from the outside. You have to be a bit careful not to crinkle your face too much so it doesn’t flake off, but actual removal is really easy – rub off the dry bits with your hands, and then use wet hands to massage away the rest of it.

Et voila! Super soft skin in ten minutes. I don’t find I have any redness after removing this mask – although it is exfoliating, it is very gentle and kind to skin, like most Lush products. I don’t know if I’ll stay loyal to this mask (I want to try Ayesha next!) but it’s well worth a go if you have slightly dry, dull skin, for a bit of a pep-up.

Have you tried any of Lush’s face masks? Which is your favourite?

Asha x

 

12 thoughts on “Review: Lush Brazened Honey Face Mask

  1. Ahh, I’ve been trying to decide which Lush face mask to use next, but since you seem such a big fan of this one, I think I might go for it! I have Love Lettuce right now and it’s really nice – great gentle lavender scent and leaves my skin feeling awesome – but I really want to try more of Lush’s masks.

    • Yes, I’ve been tempted by Love Lettuce! I’m not the most enormous fan of lavender, but some of my favourite Lush products are lavender scented and I love them (Eau Roma, Christmas Eve, Dreamtime bath melt) because they’re not a harsh lavender, if you know what I mean? So your description of Love Lettuce makes it sound pretty good to me! 🙂
      Brazened Honey is really lovely, though, definitely give it a go 🙂

  2. This looks really nice! I had Catastrophe Cosmetic a while back but fell out of using it, this sounds lovely, I love honey based face masks – might have to give it a try!

  3. Pingback: May Empties! | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!

