Review: Lush Rub Rub Rub Salt Scrub

I’ve long been a fan of body scrubs to keep my skin soft, especially on my legs, and I tend to favour really scrubby scrubs that you can feel working, rather than the bobbly soft kind.  I picked up Lush’s Rub Rub Rub scrub about a month ago, tempted by its mimosa and orange blossom scent (the same as Sakura bath bomb – oh how I miss you), and have nearly finished it! This review will be an exercise in how quickly the word ‘scrub’ starts to sound weird…

I’ve enjoyed using this, but I’m not sure that it’s going to be a HG of mine. It certainly hasn’t disappointed in terms of fragrance or formulation, but I have had a little trouble with the packaging that’s slightly put me off repurchasing this.

P1000784This scrub comes in the standard large Lush black pot, which is really useful for being able to get as much of the product out as you wish. However, it’s really not watertight, and even though I took so much care not to get water into the pot while it was open, just leaving it in the shower has meant that the scrub seems to have dissolved quite a bit. You can see from the official picture the normal consistency:

And you can see how liquid mine has gone:

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 16.03.40

One of the great things about this scrub is that you can use it as harshly or as softly as you like, depending on how much water you use it with – dry, it’s a very scrubby scrub, and wet, it’s gentler. Trouble is, I really liked the dry consistency, and now I’m stuck with the wet one!

Otherwise, this scrub is fantastic! It’s no secret that I adore any beauty products that are this gorgeous shade of blue (although mine is paler now than when new), and I loved rediscovering the fragrance of Sakura. I’ve seen lots of reviews of this which say that they were expecting a fresh scent because of the colour, but this is definitely a floral scent, which I prefer. The fragrance isn’t particularly long-lasting, but it does make your shower a bit brighter!

P1000787

My disappointment with this scrub is in part due to my annoying shower, which has no space to stand things out of the water flow, and in part due to it being a salt scrub, which I think is more limiting than a sugar scrub (can’t use it after shaving, dissolves more quickly). For £7.95 for 330g, this is cheaper than Soap and Glory, which I also favour for scrubs, but I think that it gets used up much more quickly, so I can’t say it’s better value.

I do really really like this scrub, but I can’t help but wish it came in a bottle, like some that I’ve seen. I may repurchase this, but I think I can live without it…

Have you tried this, or any of the scrubs from Lush?

Asha x

 

16 thoughts on “Review: Lush Rub Rub Rub Salt Scrub

  1. If you liked the scrubbiness of this, you should try the soap and glory scrubs! I love them 🙂 my favourite has to be the sugar crush! Will be reviewing it soon x

  2. I have this product and I have the same problem – water gets into the tub and makes the scrub get watery! But I have to agree the scent is to die for. One of my favourite smells from Lush! 🙂

  3. Pingback: June Empties! | The Oxford Owl

  4. Pingback: Review: Lush Aqua Mirabilis Exfoliating Body Butter | The Oxford Owl

  5. Pingback: Review: Lush Let the Good Times Roll Cleanser | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!

