Nails of the Day: Sweet as Ice Cream

Today the sunshine made me reach for my brightest, springiest polishes for a sweet skittle manicure! This is much more striking and cutesy than I would normally wear, but I have to admit, it’s making me smile.

P1000855Coral: Barry M Gelly Hi Shine Papaya

Yellow: Barry M Lemon Ice Cream

Turquoise: Barry M Gelly Hi Shine Greenberry

Blue: Barry M Blueberry Ice Cream

Purple: A England Guinevere

Top Coat: Sally Hansen Insta-Dri

P1000856

Quite a lot of Barry M! As always with pastel/light colours, there’s a certain amount of streakiness meaning that several coats are needed of most of these: the coral and turquoise are three coaters, the purple is two, blue is (impressively) only one, and the yellow is the worst polish I’ve ever used, needing five coats. It’s already smudged on my right hand, because five coats is just waaay too many to have on your nails, however long you give them to dry! The other colours are fairly impressive, though.

What do you think of this mani? A bit too childish, or perfect for a spot of sunshine?

Asha x

9 thoughts on “Nails of the Day: Sweet as Ice Cream

    • I always love it in photos, but hate it on my nails, so only use it for things like this (and the dots, which I took off straight away). I didn’t use a base coat this time, I’ve run out of the one I like!

  1. Do you not like it just because of the colour? I wear L’Oreal Colour Riche ‘Sky Fits Heaven’ as my favourite matte blue but am looking for something paler o be a bit more summery…

  2. I used to buy Barry M nail polish all the time but I think I’ve become a bit of a polish snob now (I only tend to buy nails inc!) but after seeing all of these colours I might just invest – the coral colour is gorgeous! Gemma, xo

    • The Gelly Hi Shine formula is incredible – their ordinary polish I still think is better than a lot of expensive brands, but the colours are a bit basic, if you know what I mean? I love shades with depth, like A England and China Glaze, and Barry M doesn’t have many polishes that aren’t flat… Still, for basic colours, I think they’re the best brand!

Say hello - it'll make my day!

