My Urban Decay Eyeshadow Collection

If you’ve been reading my blog for even a little while, you might have noticed that I favour Urban Decay eyeshadows over all other eyeshadows. I really feel like they are superior quality to almost any other brand, and their palettes, while expensive, are actually really good value for money when you consider how many colours you get, and the quality of them (and if they’re a little smaller than a single-pan eyeshadow, well, who’s ever used one up?!). I love the range of colours, the quality of the pigment, and the quirky, gorgeous packaging.

P1000860I currently own four palettes from Urban Decay, three of which were gifts from my mum, and one of which was a gift from a friend for my 16th birthday, which kickstarted my love affair with the brand. I have the NYC Book of Shadows, the Smoked Palette, the Naked Palette, and a little 9-shadow palette that I can’t find a name for!

P1000863Apologies for the messiness of a couple of these, they’re very well-loved! I won’t be swatching them all, as that would just take too long, I just thought it might be interesting to see which colours I have, and which I use the most… Colour names bolded, with doubles in italics.

In chronological order, then, the small palette:

P1000868With Grind (pale beige with silver glitter), Shotgun (pinky beige, glittery), Last Call (shimmery light plum), Asphyxia (matte lilac), Uzi (white and silver glitter), Shattered (shimmery turquoise), Smog (deep coppery brown shimmer, my favourite), Chopper (sparkly pinky champagne) and Midnight Cowboy (silver champagne glitter).

This is a good mix of neutrals and colours and is my go-to handbag palette. My top three here are Smog, Chopper and Shattered. 

Next up is the NYC palette, which I’ve had for a few years:

P1000867

This originally came with two 24/7 eye pencils, in Zero (black) and Ransom (vivid purple). This one has Perversion (matte black), Uzi (white with silver glitter), Loaded (dark shimmery forest green), Kush (shimmery bright green), Midnight Cowboy Rides Again (pinkier champagne glitter than the original MC), Last Call (shimmery plum), Rockstar (shimmery dark purple), Money (shimmery pale green-blue), Haight (shimmery bright teal), Maui Wowie (pale gold glitter), Smog (deep copper brown shimmer), Bordello (shimmery pink), Radium (shimmery cobalt blue), Snatch (pink with gold glitter), Suspect (pale brown shimmer), Psychedelic Sister (shimmery bright purple).

Three favourites here are Smog, Suspect (these two were my everyday look for about a year), and Loaded. I adore the versatility of this palette, and although I don’t use all the colours all the time, it’s so useful to have great quality colours for more adventurous looks (and shows!).

Then for Christmas I was given Smoked, which I’ve reviewed in detail here:

P1000865

Kinky (matte cream) , Freestyle (matte taupe), Mushroom (shimmery grey-brown), Backdoor (shimmery dark mahogany), Blackout (slightly shimmery black), Barlust (warm brown shimmer), Rockstar (shimmery dark purple) , Evidence (shimmery dark blue), Loaded (shimmery dark forest green) , Asphalt (shimmery dark grey).

I love this palette for, you guessed it, a smoky eye, mostly for evening, but the matte shades also make a great minimal day look. Top three: Mushroom, Barlust, and Asphalt.

And finally, for my birthday recently, I was given the Naked palette, yay!

P1000869Every blogger and their dog has done a proper review and swatches of this, so I’ve been reluctant to, but oh my gosh do I love this palette!

Virgin (fine shimmer pale beige), Sin (very shimmery pale copper), Naked (matte, same colour as my skintone), Sidecar (very shimmery, same colour as my skintone), Buck (matte taupe), Half Baked (shimmery bright copper), Darkhorse (very shimmery grey-brown), Toasted (shimmery pink-brown), Hustle (shimmery purple-brown), Creep (shimmery grey-black) an Gunmetal (shimmery gunmetal grey).

This is the most useful palette in the world. Day looks are so easy with this, all the colours go together! My go-to combination here is Sin, Sidecar and Darkhorse.

So, those are the pride and joy of my make up collection, my most favoured products. What’s your favourite Urban Decay product? As always, let me know if you’d like proper swatches of any colours!

Asha x

8 thoughts on “My Urban Decay Eyeshadow Collection

  1. I love Urban Decay eyeshadows – they’re the best ones I’ve ever used! I’ve got the NYC one too, plus the 15 Year Anniversary and Ammo ones – Naked’s next on my list though! Gemma, xo

    • Ooh, I like the look of the Anniversary palette 🙂
      I’ve used Naked nearly everyday since I got it, I can’t believe I went so long without it! You won’t regret getting it 😀

  2. Urban Decay makes great colors. I have the pink palette as well as a Naked palette. I love the color SMOG in the pink palette. Their customizable palettes are fun too – if you haven’t got one of those, with creative designs.

  3. Pingback: Rainbow Tag! | The Oxford Owl

  4. Pingback: Outfit of the Day: 2nd April | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!

