Review: John Frieda Brilliant Brunette Shampoo and Conditioner

P1010066I used to use nothing but John Frieda’s Brilliant Brunette range when I was about 15, so I was excited when my mum said she had some spares of the shampoo that she didn’t want! I went and bought the matched conditioner so that I could get back into the whole range, and I’ve been using these now for a few weeks (hence the half-empty bottles).
Unfortunately, this is not the Brilliant Brunette that I used to love! I’ve tried to be fairly balanced and review it on its own merit, but I can’t help feeling really disappointed that they’ve changed the formula. The shampoo used to be a dark, opaque, shimmery colour, and now it’s just clear, and I think the conditioner used to be darker too. What I’m missing the most, though, is the gorgeous cinnamon-spicey scent that both products used to have…

P1010068

On its own merit, then, the shampoo is really nice. It lathers well enough, and smells okay – a fairly typical shampoo smell. I also find that it leaves my hair quite shiny.

The conditioner isn’t really anything special. It’s not as thick as I prefer my conditioner to be, but despite that, I feel like it’s a bit too heavy for my hair, leaving it very soft but a little bit lank. I’ve been alternating it with Alberto Balsam’s Blueberry conditioner, which is my go-to good cheap conditioner, and much prefer my hair on days I use that.

Overall, this shampoo and conditioner are nice – nice but not great, and as such I don’t think they merit the high prices they retail for  (usually around £5, depending on the shop).

Does anyone know why they changed the formula? Can you recommend another great smelling shampoo?

Asha x

4 thoughts on “Review: John Frieda Brilliant Brunette Shampoo and Conditioner

  1. Pingback: July Empties! | The Oxford Owl

  2. Pingback: December Empties! | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!

