Review: Lush Aqua Mirabilis Exfoliating Body Butter

Yes, you read that right, an exfoliating body butter.

This is another one of Lush’s in-shower/bath moisturisers, although it’s not quite the same as the Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner, since it comes in a solid bar format, rather than a tub.

P1010131

BEWARE: Aqua Mirabilis is very melty – you’d probably be best to cut off a little bit to use for each bath or shower, rather than take the whole thing in with you. I used one sixth of mine, which was enough to exfoliate my entire body: arms, legs, feet, back, the lot. This really does go a long way, but it won’t if you get the whole thing wet!

Once you have your little bit of butter bar, you just smooth it over your body, and it magically turns from solid bar into this gorgeous thick creamy wash filled with properly scrubby bits of almond shell (so no salt-on-just-shaved-legs ouches!) for a really decent exfoliation. The texture of the scrub is pretty much what would happen if you combined St Ives’ Apricot Face Scrub with a Lush massage bar, and when you rinse you feel scrubbed, but not scraped, and moisturised, but not sticky. I had absolutely no residue left from this after rinsing it off, which is always a plus.

Sorry I don’t have any pictures of it in action, but I used it when I was actually in the bath, and that is a place my camera shall NEVER go. 

This smells really subtle, somewhere between nutty and herby, but mostly creamy. It sounds really silly, but it does rather smell how it looks: unadventurous, but solid and comforting. Unfortunately, it didn’t have the moisturising power to tackle my quite-dry skin on its own, so I supplemented it with Dream Cream once I was dry – however, what I felt that the moisturising element did do was negate any dryness caused by the scrubbiness, rather than add extra moisture.

Overall, this is a really lovely product, but I would definitely class it as a luxurious scrub, rather than a body butter, as I found it to be lacking in the moisture department. While I really like Aqua Mirabilis, I’m not sure that I’d purchase it over my other Lush Holy Grail body scrub (Rub Rub Rub) and in-shower moisturiser (Ro’s Argan)…

What do you think? Is there a place in your shower for Aqua Mirabilis?

Asha x

4 thoughts on “Review: Lush Aqua Mirabilis Exfoliating Body Butter

Say hello - it'll make my day!

