Review: Mizon Snail Repair Cream

P1010436

So, I have a funny story to tell you about this little jar of cream. I won a giveaway over at Storybook Apothecary and this was my lovely prize, but because it was an international giveaway, it took a couple of weeks to reach me.

All post that gets sent to me at university goes to the college building itself, rather than to my room, and is collected up by the porters and sorted into ‘pigeonholes’. On the day that this arrived, I was having a very bad day. Some horrible personal stuff had happened the night before, so I was operating on very little sleep – and it was near the end of term anyway, when I’m always exhausted! I’d had a 9am class just before picking this up, so it’s safe to say I was not at my best.

I saw I had a chit for a parcel to pick up, but didn’t remember ordering anything, so confused, I opened my parcel in the lodge (post room), and was so thoroughly baffled at this ‘snail cream’ that I nearly burst into tears with confusion at why someone had sent me this. It was only several hours later that I remembered winning the giveaway! In the meantime, I’d spent a good ten minutes in the lodge being loudly baffled, with one of the porters suggesting uses for snail cream (“moisturising snails?”). To this day, if I have a parcel chit, the porters now write ‘SNAILS’ and ‘MORE SNAILS’ across the top of the paper, which always makes me smile!

Image from janlackey.wordpress.com

Mizon Snail Repair Cream is, of course, a face cream, and a very nice one at that. Tianna’s giveaway was run with Peach and Lily, which informs me that this retails for $48 – way more than I’d choose to spend on a cream! But it is apparently an Asian bestseller, and I have to say, it feels very luxurious and high quality.

I’ve been using this as my night cream for about four weeks now, so I feel I’ve given it a proper test run for review. It’s more like a thick gel than a cream, and you only need the tiniest amount to moisturise your entire face. The cream doesn’t have much of a scent, but it’s quite fresh, and certainly not snail-y or gross (what does a snail even smell like?). If there were no words on the pot, you’d never know this had such slimy beginnings!

In terms of the level of moisture it provides, this is quite a light texture, but it does take a while to sink in, which is why it’s become my night cream rather than my day cream. My skin hasn’t particularly changed since using this, it’s the same condition as when I was using the Nivea Pure and Natural, so I’m assuming either similar levels of moisturisation, or they’re both useless (the former seems more likely!).

P1010441

If you can get over the weirdness of applying snail mucus to your face, I’d definitely recommend trying this – it’s currently sold out on Peach and Lily, but there’s a seller on eBay who seems reasonably priced. A massive thank you to Tianna at Storybook Apothecary and Peach and Lily for giving me the chance to try this!

How do you feel about snails on your face?

Asha x

6 thoughts on “Review: Mizon Snail Repair Cream

  1. Oh man, that story is so funny! Although I don’t think I could get my mind off the fact it started as a snail, I have such an aversion to them, I feel sick just seeing that photo of them! Bleugh!

Say hello - it'll make my day!

