Outfit of the Night: 30th September

Sorry I’ve been MIA for a few days! I’ve been really busy working on the Oxford Fashion Week Dress Up Live Friday event, so in addition to staying up til 1 all week writing and managing their blog, Friday itself was pretty manic, and since then I’ve been sorting and uploading photos of the event, and doing some post-event coverage. I’ll be posting here about the evening tomorrow.

Anyway, I’m back now, and finally have the energy to post for myself rather than for OFW, so lets start with what I wore on the night…

Specifications were all-black, with a small flash of colour, and fashionable. Now, since I’m currently staying at Boyfriend’s, I only had a small selection of my clothes with me, and nothing that suited those specs, so that meant new clothes! I love what I ended up with, but together it’s a rather interesting look…P1010894

P1010908

P1010875

P1010905

P1010938

P1010927

P1010904

Firstly – look at that leather skirt – it’s perfect! I’ve been looking for a nicely shaped leather-look skirt for autumn, and this one from Miss Selfridge is so flattering, and a really nice texture. It’s heavy enough to feel decent, but light enough to be comfortable, and I love the high-waisted skater shape. I think I’ll get a lot of wear out of this through autumn and winter. Find it here on their website.

The top is actually a body, which amused Boyfriend no end. It’s ever so Victoriana, with that high lace collar and the ruffles, but a bit more interesting for the sheer panel. This is also from Miss Selfridge, and although I won’t get much wear out of it everyday, I think it’s a great option to have for parties. This is on the website here.

I added my flash of colour with my new red suede Primark heels, earrings I bought from eBay ages ago, and very red lips. There aren’t any good pictures of it, but I added this baroque clutch bag from New Look to stick my essentials (plus business cards) in.

Some photos of me getting ready:

P1010836

P1010849

P1010841

P1010860Mostly staples for my face: Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation and Concealer to start, with Rimmel Stay Matter Transparent Powder to set, then the Naked palette for my eyes, plus Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeliner in Zero and No7 360 Degree Mascara. I used Benefit Benetint on my cheeks, and went for a classic red on my lips with the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Romantic. I topped off with my sweet Nina by Nina Ricci perfume because I couldn’t resist that red apple!

I felt really confident in this outfit – it’s pretty far from my usual style, but I certainly felt like I was holding my own amongst all the fashionistas. What do you think of the texture clash? Are you a ruffle fan?

Asha x

12 thoughts on “Outfit of the Night: 30th September

    • Thank you! 😀 I love the skirt – I bought a leather skirt at a vintage fair in April, but never quite got to grips with it – this one, though, fits like a dream and is just my style 🙂

  1. Hi there I am that lovely guy who made you those awesome G&T’s, I was just wondering if it would be possible for you to send me any pictures you have of me that day and of the store.
    Many thanks
    Brandon.

Say hello - it'll make my day!

