Shopping My Stash

Like most of you I expect, I have a habit of acquiring must-have things and then forgetting to use them. And then buying more things. And forgetting to use them. Now don’t get me wrong, I love having a good variety of colours in makeup, or flavours of lip balms and things – I’m not doing this in order to whittle my stash down to one of each item. I just want to show some long-lost products some love!

I am fairly loyal to some things and don’t tend to hoard different varieties, so I haven’t wanted to switch up my cleanser and toner, for instance, and in other cases I’m in the middle of a big bottle of something, so I’m just going to persevere (like shower gel).BEAUTY shopping my stash

 

 

Top Row:

Chilli Pepper Eyeshadow Quad – this is a cute little neutral set that was my everyday eyeshadow hero in my first year at uni. Then came Urban Decay. I really like these, I just… stopped using them!

Nivea Express Hydration Primer – I absolutely HAD to have this when it came out, and then I realised it was less of a Porefessional, post-moisturiser primer, and more of a moisturiser in its own right. But I’ve recently finished my day cream, so it’s Primer’s time to shine!

Bottom Row:

Nip and Fab Dry Leg Fix – I got this in free with a magazine this summer, so it’s not been languishing too long, but I want to use my body lotions while I can enjoy them, before it gets wintry and I feel much more body buttery.

No7 Sheer Temptation lipstick in ‘Lovely’ – This was part of a gift with purchase somewhen in the mists of time. It’s a sort of dusky pink, but very shimmery, so it’s been abandoned for a while in favour of my brights. Time to see if I can make it work or if it’s one to ditch.

Mini Ghost perfume – I really like this! I had a set of mini perfumes given to me at Christmas several years ago, and from them discovered my favourite scent, Givenchy’s Ange ou Demon – but that meant I rather neglected the other minis, which is silly when I liked them so much! As the weather darkens, the richness of Ghost should be nice.

Toffee Apple flavoured owl lip balm – surely enough said? This is amazing. I just have way too many lipbalms!

Soap and Glory Glam-a-lot – I don’t really wear body spray that much, being such a perfume girl. This is nice enough with a lovely scent, but I’ve had it for years and really would rather focus on perfume.

And of course, beauty products aren’t the only thing I stash! My To Be Read pile is enormous (although slowly shrinking, only around 160 books now), so I’m going to make an effort to nominate some lingerers to be read in the next couple of weeks to shift them onto the Read shelves!

BOOKS shopping my stash

Black Trillium by Marion Bradley, Julian May and Andre Norton – this looks like a good old-fashioned high fantasy! Not sure why this one keeps slipping down the list, I’ve had it on the pile for a few years.

The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters by G.W. Dahlquist – I’m actually reading this at the moment, and it’s very entertaining, but quite a dense, slow read. I love the blurb quote – like Sherlock Holmes, with the production values of Buffy, rewritten by the Marquis de Sade. Fun stuff.

The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde – I’ve tried to read this before and gave up – I found it a bit too patronisingly knowing and sly, but I like his other work (Shades of Grey is great), so I’m going to give it another go.

Vanished Kingdoms by Norman Davies – This has only been on the pile since Christmas, but I’m worried that if I don’t get to it soon, all my non-fiction will be abandoned once the Classics kicks in for the final year in October… A history of now-defunct places in Europe, how exciting!

Do you have the same stashing habits as I do? What do you think of this stash-shopping idea?

Asha x

16 thoughts on “Shopping My Stash

  1. Well, I’m so glad I don’t have that problem with lipstick and all the other makeup.
    Books, of course, are another matter!
    For a bit of perspective, I’m now at a point where I’m de-collecting, It’s marvelous what I keep discovering. Reading, as you already know, is a lifetime passion.
    All the best …

    • De-collecting sounds like an interesting idea – are you re-reading to see if you still want to keep things?
      I don’t ever think I’m going to be able to read all the books I own, acquiring a beautiful book is such a part of being a reader…

      • Of course I take a look first. And then my elder daughter goes through the pile and retrieves more than I’d like. And then I get the joy of extending these to others.
        Our library, for instance, has a magazine swap, which always moves quickly.
        And our town dump has a book shed, which allows for some fine free reading. (I rarely come back empty handed, try as I may.)
        You’re still young. You’ll be surprised how much reading you’ll get done. Just enjoy it all.

  2. Pingback: Shopping My Stash #2! | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!

