Review: Bourjois Color Boost Lip Crayons

I’m incredibly late off the mark with this review – every blogger and her dog has tried and reviewed the Bourjois Color Boost Lip Crayons already. In my defence, though, I bought these the week they came out, and have only managed not to photograph them so far because they’ve never been out of my bag/pocket/hands. As you can see from the total state the packaging is in!

P1020542

I favour a bright blue-toned lip, so I only picked up two colours – Red Sunrise, above, and Fuchsia Libre, below. I absolutely love these crayons! I had some misgivings at the start, because I was expecting the formula to be quite like the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain – more like a balm, with some colour.

But no. These are pure colour! They feel a lot more like lipstick on my lips, and look a lot more like it too. Rather than tinting your lips, these crayons feel like they melt lipstick onto your lips and stick it there – kind of like a less messy Rimmel Apocalips. Or you know, normal lipstick.

P1020545The colours, oh my! These are ever so slightly sheer, but so so pigmented! I suppose my best attempt at describing them would be a sort of jelly consistency… Fuchsia Libre is the sweetest bright pink, which I find very wearable, whereas the sheerness and almost-coral lean of Red Sunrise makes it a great daytime red.

The wear time is pretty good, about six hours on me before patching and feathering, and once they’ve “set” on your lips, they don’t smudge (which is perfect for a messy drinker like me). And at £7.99, they’re not going to break the bank!

I think here’s definitely a place in my make up bag for these bright Bourjois Color Boost crayons alongside my JBK Balm Stains – what do you think?

Asha x

18 thoughts on “Review: Bourjois Color Boost Lip Crayons

  1. I’m not as excited as you are about these. I’ve got peach on the beach and I find that it really dries out my lips. Maybe it’s something about that color our my lips, but I’m not a massive fan. Great article though 😉

    • I haven’t, no, but I thought that they were more of a tinted balm? The Revlon Just Bitten Balm Stains are the usual things cited as being dupes for the Chubby Sticks – I love those 😀 These are much more lipstick-y 🙂

Say hello - it'll make my day!

