Lush Halloween!

Firstly, an apology: I’m sorry I’ve been AWOL. The amount of work I have this term hit me pretty hard and despite my best intentions, it’s been the blog that’s taken the brunt of my tiredness, leaving it pretty bare for the last couple of weeks.

Still, I’m resolved to get back to posting at least four times a week, and to start you off, here are some slightly belated mini reviews of the Lush Halloween products! These should still be around in shops, and are certainly online at lush.co.uk for a little while longer.

P1030750

This majestic looking bath bomb is the Lord of Misrule.This is hands down one of the prettiest bath bombs I’ve ever seen at Lush. It’s a pretty speckled mint green colour, but don’t let that fool you, because it’ll turn your bath to deep red wine. Now you know I’m not great at describing scents, but this is quite a gender-neutral, warm scent – almost spicey, but a little bit heavier than something like Phoenix Rising. Absolutely wonderful for a cold and rainy night. It’s very comforting, but as much as I like it, I won’t be crying when it’s no longer available. That’s not a complaint, I just have more important passions to stockpile..! But if you think Lush’s bath offerings are normally all a bit too sweet and girly, then go for this.

P1030393

Cute little Pumkin bubble bar is up next, and since you’ve already seen me review him here, I won’t go into too much detail, beyond saying that this is a lovely crumbly bar with the scent of Dorothy/Figs and Leaves, which is one of my favourite Lush scents. Although I like the idea of introducing people to some of the year-round scents in the limited edition products (it should save a lot of broken hearts come January), I’m disappointed that Lush used a bubble bar scent in another bubble bar – Dorothy-scented shower gel, yes please! Blousey-scented Pumkin, sure! For example, I love that one of the Christmas offerings is a Honey I Washed the Kids scented bath bomb (old scent, new format), but I feel that they’ve been lazy with the scent selection here.

P1030868

And last but not least, the rather controversial star of the Halloween show, the Soot ball bath bomb. The design is based on the soot demons from Studio Ghibli classic Spirited Away, which is one of my favourite films, and I just think this looks lovely! Lush tried to get around the difficulty of a black bath bomb by spraying only the outside black – the inside is sparkly gold lustre. However, a lot of people have been angry that the black coating still stains quite badly. I haven’t tried this yet, but I’ve been tipped off that it’s a good idea to dip the Soot Ball in a jug or sink of water before you put it in the bath, to get the black off into something you can more easily and quickly clean. Still, this smells woody and deep and sort of Christmassy, but I smell something very sweet in there in tiny quantities, just enough to make it ‘Lush-y’ enough 🙂

Individually, I love each of the Halloween products, but I don’t feel that there’s much variety in the range. All three are bath products, with one (although cute) being both a shape and scent that’s been used before. I don’t think it would have hurt to have introduced a soap or a shower gel/jelly instead of one of the bath bombs.

Did you try any of the Halloween bath products from Lush? What do you think?

Asha x

4 thoughts on “Lush Halloween!

    • Hey sweetie! Things are going well, thanks, seems to have settled down a bit now… How are you doing?
      Thank you so much for the nomination (sorry it’s taken me so long to get round to it, I sort of failed a bit on the blogging front for a while :P)

Say hello - it'll make my day!

