Review: L’Occitane Shea Protects With Love Hand Creams (Subtle Violet and Rose Tenderness)

Okay, I’ll admit it, these are yet another magazine freebie. But in my defence, I think that getting sample sizes or even fullsizes for a nominal price is actually a really good way to try out new products, which can either lead to:

  1. falling in love with something (Benefit Porefessional primer)
  2. successfully avoiding paying full price for something you wanted but ended up not liking (This Works Daily Boost body scrub)
  3. stocking up on favourites (L’Occitane hand cream, Benetint, mascara).

P1040097

I adore L’Occitane’s shea butter hand cream. Ever since I tried it around two years ago (also as a freebie from a magazine!), it’s been my favourite hand cream, and one of the only ones I can stand to feel on my hands. I can’t bear it when my hands are greasy after applying cream, and this formula is so thick and creamy that it sinks in straightaway, without leaving any residue.

 

P1040101

There are a million and one variations on this formula in all the different scent ranges that L’Occitane do, but what particularly caught my eye about the ‘Shea Protects With Love’ range is that it comes in three of my favourite floral scents: rose, violet and jasmine. I didn’t manage to pick up a tube of the jasmine scent, but I got my hands on Subtle Violet and Rose Tenderness, which made me rather happy. The violet scent is lovely, and not something you see on the market too often. It’s quite soft, but manages to be fresh enough to avoid old-lady territory. To be honest, I can’t tell much difference between ‘Rose Tenderness’ and the other rose-scented L’Occitane hand cream I own, but that’s not a problem to be, because it’s a good take on rose.

P1040099

I love the little flower-shaped lids on these two variations. They just add a bit of cuteness to the mix! Add in the pretty packaging, and you’ve got me even more sold on this product than I was before. Perfect.

P1040103

 

Did you pick any of these up? Do you share the L’Occitane love? If you like the look of these, they’re limited edition, so get down to L’Occitane sharpish!

Asha x

5 thoughts on “Review: L’Occitane Shea Protects With Love Hand Creams (Subtle Violet and Rose Tenderness)

  1. As you know I absolutely LOVE these 🙂 Especially the rose one is amazing! Although yesterday, I accidentally discovered a new (slightly cheaper but still quite expensive) hand cream: Crabtree & Evelyn’s pomegranate and argan hand cream. I think it smells truly amazing, and feels lovely and rich without being too greasy. Not sure if there is a Crabtree & Evelyn near you, but if there is, try it out in store 🙂 Curious to hear what you think!

    • That sounds really lovely! I’ll have to check it out (but maybe when the hand cream stash gets a little smaller, I’m not sure I need another one right now 😛 Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

Say hello - it'll make my day!

