Review: Lush Let the Good Times Roll Cleanser

P1040208

Remember my love for St Ives Apricot Scrub, and how no scrub could ever top that for me?

Well, hold on there just a minute.

I might have fallen in love with Let the Good Times Roll cleanser from Lush. 

Let the Good Times Roll is a Christmas addition to the Lush skincare line, and is a bit of a customer favourite. I haven’t ever really gotten on with the solid cleansers too well, as I find them quite messy, but a lovely friend gave me a generous sample of her LTGTR to try out, and, well, it’s perfect.

  1. For starters, this has the most amazing smell. It’s a wonderful cinnamon-toffee smell that just screams ‘eat me’ (although obviously, don’t). If gourmand scents aren’t your thing, then I would avoid this like the plague, but cinnamon and toffee scents pretty much mean instant purchases for me.
  2. Secondly, it’s scrubby! It doesn’t look scrubby, but it’s satisfying enough even for me, Miss Sandpaper-My-Face-And-Call-It-Pampering! Okay, it’s still gentler than my beloved St Ives, but believe me, this feels like you’re actually doing something.
  3. It’s gentle but effective. I never get redness after using this, but it does leave my skin feeling clean, with no residue. This really is exfoliation you can do every day (Disclaimer as always: your skin may be more sensitive than mine).
  4. It lasts for a really long time – you use a tiny pinch at a time, wet it, cover your face, and barely notice a dent in the pot!
  5. Um, the smell. Did I mention the smell??

P1040215

There is one downside to this, and I’m afraid it is the solidness of the product. There’s something that seems unnecessarily difficult about unscrewing a Lush black pot in the shower, pinching off enough for your face, screwing the lid back on, wetting the scrub without letting it run down the drain, mixing it into a paste, and using it. Of course, I’m exaggerating a little, but it is a bit of a pain. Not enough to stop me using it, but it’s a gripe I have with many of the Lush products in pots (Rub Rub Rub Scrub and Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner, I’m looking at you two) – I wish they’d change their packaging!

All in all, though, I adore Let the Good Times Roll, and wish it were a permanent product. I’m not believing the ‘it’s sticking around’ comments until I see it there in the normal shop come January – Lush promised this last Christmas apparently, and didn’t follow through. Still, a medium-sized pot like this should still last me a long time – just got to hope that it being preservative-free means that it’ll last as long as I need it to!

Have you tried this? How do you feel about a toffee-scented facial scrub?

Asha x

28 thoughts on “Review: Lush Let the Good Times Roll Cleanser

  1. Mmm, this sounds lovely, going to Lush today so will have to have a sniff! I really hate the pots for Lush products, Rub Rub Rub is my favorite shower scrub, but I miss when they used to package it in a bottle! x

  2. Miss Sandpaper-My-Face-And-Call-It-Pampering- lol. Thanks for the review, this sounds awesome! And delicious! Totally agree with the pots being inconvenient, especially Ro’s Argan which gets tricky when your hands are greasy. Wish LUSH would make a pop top or something haha

  3. Pingback: The Sunshine Award! | The Oxford Owl

  4. Pingback: My Winter Skincare Routine | The Oxford Owl

  5. Pingback: My December Favourites | The Oxford Owl

  6. Pingback: January Empties! | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!

