Review: NSpa Japanese Spa Rituals Gift Set

P1040493

I received this pretty little gift set for Christmas – I love NSpa as a brand (and am actually a member of Nirvana Spa, the spa/gym behind the brand), so I was really happy to see this under the tree! The Japanese Spa Rituals gift set contains three travel-sized products with a cherry blossom and rice milk scent, all housed in a gorgeous bubblegum pink wash bag of a very good size that will be perfect for all my trips up and down to Oxford. 

P1040534

I love the cute little step-by-step packaging of these products! Step one is bubble bath, step two is wash grains (more on those in a minute) and step three is body lotion. I don’t think many people could get those in the wrong order, but I do think it’s quite sweet to have the numbers on there.

P1040570

Step One: cleanse! Cherry Blossom and Rice Milk Bath Melt is a very pretty bubble bath, even before you get to its effects! It’s a pearlescent pink, and is of a very thick consistency, so not only does it feel a bit more luxurious than your average cheapy bubble bath, it is also surprisingly long lasting, with just a little bit creating heaps of bubbles. It has a very sweet floral (I get a lot of cherry blossom and peony) fragrance in the bottle, but is a little bit disappointing in the water. Like NSpa bath products I’ve tried before, the scent doesn’t linger too well once you’ve run it under the tap. It’s a shame, because it has a lovely scent, but overall I still like this bubble bath a lot. 

P1040525

Step two: exfoliate! I had never seen anything like this before – Cherry Blossom and Rice Milk Wash Grains. Essentially, it’s a pot of dry grains, sort of the consistency of salt, but I assume that they are the ‘crushed bamboo’ of the label. If anyone can enlighten me, please do! They’re very simple to use though; just scoop up a small handful, and rub onto wet skin. After that it functions just like a normal exfoliator, and I find it nicely scrubby. I like that you have the control over how scrubby it is, because you can use it with as much or as little water as you like. Don’t use it dry, though. It hurts. And don’t say I don’t experiment for you! The scent of this product is far different to the rest of the set, and smells almost sour, and certainly quite musky. It’s not as pleasant as the floral – I wonder why it is so different…

P1040526

Step three: moisturise! The Cherry Blossom and Rice Milk Whipped Body Creme is absolutely gorgeous. NSpa is very, very good at body ‘cremes’, which are somewhere between body lotion and body butter in consistency. Perfect for people who like a more solidly textured moisturiser, but don’t necessarily want the heaviness of a butter. This feels as light as air on your skin, but does a decent job of moisturising without creating stickiness or dryness. The scent is more similar to the bath melt than the wash grains, but is a slightly less sweet, with a warmer note of ylang ylang. This is my favourite product of the set, and I wish it came in a larger size!

If you like the sound of this, then you can pick it up from the Nirvana Spa website here, or in larger Asda shops. I really like it, and think that NSpa have done a good job with this new line. It sits between the fun and funky fruit products and the sleek, grown up spa products very nicely, and I’ll be looking to try out more from the range in future.

Asha x

3 thoughts on “Review: NSpa Japanese Spa Rituals Gift Set

  1. Oooo, that scent sounds amazing! Those wash grains are really interesting, haven’t seen anything like that before (Happy New Year!)! x

Say hello - it'll make my day!

