My First Real Techniques Brush!

Okay, now I’m really excited about this. Just before Christmas, I decided to treat myself to a new powder brush, as my old was falling apart (and also awful). It had to be the much-raved-about Real Techniques, so I bit my lip, ignored the price tag, and picked up the Real Techniques Powder Brush, which is £12.99 at Boots (thank goodness for Advantage Card points).

P1040572

You can see what a state my old brush was in – I don’t think it was ever very nice, but it had just got so scratchy, and the bristles were starting to bunch up and leave it more patchy than even, so it picked up strange amounts of product. The Real Techniques brush, in comparison, is perfectly round, and as soft as a feather. It’s so soft that my camera had difficulty picking up the edges, and just blurred them into a fluffy cloud! 

P1040578

Softness aside (otherwise I might rave about it for days), I actually find this brush to be wonderful in other ways too! For a start, it’s very ergonomically designed, and has a nice weight to it. It’s pleasantly chunky, and feels good in your hand, giving you a lot of control over what you’re doing. The brush itself is a nice shape that easily picks up a good amount of product and evenly distributes it. It even washes well, drying very quickly and holding its shape and softness perfectly.

P1040583

I use this brush mostly for translucent powder, after applying foundation, but I also like to use it for blush, because it’s got a good shape for hitting the apples of your cheeks. I’ve never been a massive fan of brushes, applying most things with my fingers, but I really like this for powder products, and to be honest, it’s made such a difference to the quality of my make up application, that I might be won over to try out other styles of brush from Real Techniques.

So here’s one more voice loudly in favour of these fantastic brushes – what would you recommend I try from Real Techniques next?

Asha x

26 thoughts on “My First Real Techniques Brush!

  1. Lovely review! I definitely recommend the Expert Face Brush and the Blush Brush if you’re interesting in trying out some more Real Techniques brushes, they’re my favourites:D xx

  2. I’ve been using e.l.f. studio brushes which are quite nice, but I’ve had my eyes on the real techniques eye brushes for a while… maybe I’ll buy them when pay day rolls round!

      • I like some more than others. Love the powder brush (the flat-top one), but I’m not sure about the smaller eye brushes… they seem very hard at the moment, but I’ve heard they get better after a few washes, so we’ll see what they’re like in a few weeks! The price is obviously a massive plus point.

  3. I’m exactly the same, I’ve never really been into brushes very much! I really want to try the real techniques ones now as I have heard so many good things about them. I might give this one a go 🙂 thanks so much for the informative post, I really enjoyed it!

  4. I love RT! I just bought their shadow brushes and they are amazing. I had a chat with the girl at the counter and she said she’s stopped buying Mac brushes and now only uses the RT ones. It could have been a sales technique, but as I was already buying them I don’t think it was :p.

  5. The Real Techniques brushes are amazing! I don’t have the powder brush but it’s definitely next on my list. I recommend the expert face brush, blush brush and contouring brush. They’re all so soft and work really well.
    Also, have a look on iHerb.com – that’s where I buy all my Real Techniques brushes and they’re half the price of what I’d have to pay in store!

  6. Pingback: April Favourites! | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!

