Review: Urban Decay Naked 2 Double Ended 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil (Perversion and Pistol)

P1040611

Amidst all the excitement over the new Naked 3 palette, I haven’t seen too much hype for the newest additions to the Urban Decay Naked range: the double ended 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencils.

There’s one to match each Naked palette:

  • Naked 1 has Zero (black) and Whiskey (dark brown matte)
  • Naked 2 has Perversion (blackest black) and Pistol (gunmetal/mushroom brown shimmer)
  • Naked 3 has Darkside (purpley-brown shimmer) and Blackheart (black with dark pink glitter)
  • Naked Basics has Venus (pale peach shimmer) and Crave (brown-black matte).

The Naked 2 pencil made its way into my Christmas stocking this year, and although I don’t own the original Naked 2 palette, that doesn’t stop me loving this fantastic pencil!

P1040609

You can never go wrong with a black eyeliner from Urban Decay, and Perversion is black black black. None of this greyed-out business here. And what’s even better is that it stays absolutely put, unlike many creamy black eyeliners I’ve known. Pistol is a really interesting brown-grey-taupe colour, with a hint of bronze in some lights, and mushroom in others. It has a fairly subtle shimmer, which should add a bit of interest to a neutral eye – I think it’ll be great to pair with Smog, a coppery-brown, for a graduated line.

P1040613

Tiny little swatches! You can get a really good line with these, when they’re sharp! But they also blend out nice and thick, as the Pistol swatch shows – they do a great job of keeping their opacity, even when smudged.

The best part about this eyeliner duo? It’s only £12. Sure, each colour is half the size of a full Urban Decay pencil, but let’s be honest, it’s quite difficult to finish an eyeliner anyway! So two colours for less than the normal price of one (£14)? I’m sold! Next time a bit of money’s burning a hole in my pocket, I’m going back for the Naked 3 pencil, at the very least. I’ll probably pick mine up from Debenhams, ’cause that’s what we’ve got in Oxford, but it’s also worth checking House of Fraser, and elsewhere on the internet – try LookFantastic.

Asha x

25 thoughts on “Review: Urban Decay Naked 2 Double Ended 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil (Perversion and Pistol)

  1. Went and drew all over myself with 24/7 pencils in Debenhams today, on your recommendation – I’m sold! They are so sleek and perfect!

      • I did, I didn’t know about those yet because I have no car at the moment, I can’t go to the mall. xD
        Probably either Naked 2 because of that black (:o) or the Naked 3 because I recently bought the palette. 🙂

        • I haven’t seen ANY advertising for them! I love this one, Perversion is certainly the best pigmented black I’ve ever seen – and the Naked 3 pencil makes my heart sing, it’s so beautiful. Next time it’s in stock in my local shop, it’s coming home with me too 🙂

          • Me neither, but then again, makeup isn’t really advertised in here. I find new products by driving to the mall like once a week and browse the stores I like. But I had to crash my car! xD The Naked 3 one has kind of a totally different look to the others because of the glitter they added on the new palette. I don’t wear those 2 colors much but I will! xD I am so going to Sephora today. <.<

            • That sounds like quite a good way to make up your own mind on things, actually. Sorry about your car!
              I think that the Naked palettes are actually a lot less glittery than other Urban Decay shadows – they seem to have got the idea that most people prefer subtle shimmer to being literally covered in glitter particles! 😛

              • Eh, thanks, it should be fixed by the end of the month, I hope. xD
                Usually I only find palettes by Urban Decay, I’ll have to go all the way to downtown Lisbon to find shadows. But except for the Naked 3, they all looked quite matte to me or like they don’t have aaall that much glitter. The 3 one has more glitter than the previous ones.
                And come on, glitter particles are fun! xD If one doesn’t overdo it. 😛

Say hello - it'll make my day!

