Review: Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in Wild Watermelon and Candy Apple

P1040990

Okay, so I know everyone who’s anyone has already got at least a hundred of these Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butters – they were a huge deal for a while in the blogging world, but somehow I never picked any up. Well, that was a huge mistake, as it turns out. I bought a couple a few weeks ago, when I found myself with a surplus of Boots points, and I think these might just be my favourite lipsticks for Spring (when it eventually gets here). I bought Wild Watermelon, a corally red (upright) and Candy Apple, a true red (lying down) – yes, a little heavy on the reds, but although they look very similar in the above picture, there’s actually a pretty substantial difference that totally justifies owning both. 

P1040995

First of all, I just want to mention the packaging, which I love. I really like the translucent cases – they look almost jelly-ish, and are really cute compared to your standard lipstick packaging. I also like that you can tell from the outside which colour you’re picking up. The actual bullet is a big flat circle, more like a lip balm than a lipstick, but it’s easy to control, and there seems to be a decent amount of product.

What everyone raves about in terms of these lipsticks is the consistency and formula of them, and it’s true, they really are buttery and smooth. They slide on very easily, but don’t slide off again (no Apocolips mess here) – you could just about get away with applying these without a mirror!

P1040998

In this swatch, you can see that there’s quite a difference between the two colours! Wild Watermelon is on top, and is a very pinky red, while Candy Apple is a darker, more classic red. Both are quite sheer, but still manage to impart a decent amount of colour. The sheerness is more about texture than colour, and they leave a jelly-ish sort of look on your lips which is perfect for lighter weather and daytime wear.

I really, really like the ColorBurst Lip Butters, and trying these two has made me want to buy even more! I’m definitely eyeing up Raspberry Pie, the bright pink… At £7.99, these are about average on the lip product market, but since they’re almost always on some sort of 3 for 2, they’re even better value! Which is your favourite colour  – and which one should I buy next?

Asha x

13 thoughts on “Review: Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in Wild Watermelon and Candy Apple

Say hello - it'll make my day!

