Review: Lush Emotional Brilliance in Sophisticated* and Fantasy

P1050312

Lush’s Emotional Brilliance is a widely varied range of highly pigmented liquid eyeliners, eyeshadows and lipsticks – these are definitely targeted at the higher-end of the high street market, at £14.50 a colour, but the richness of the formula makes these worth saving up for. I’ve previously reviewed Decisive, a classic red lipstick, and Motivation, a metallic teal liner, and they’ve become fixtures in my make up bag. When I was in Lush last week for the #OxMeet blogger meet up, I was thrilled to find Sophisticated*, a pearly taupe eyeshadow, in my goody bag, and couldn’t help but add Fantasy, a gold eyeliner, myself. 

The pigmentation on both of these colours is fantastic. The swatches below are only one swipe!

P1050304

Fantasy is a beautiful, highly metallic gold foil which flashes when it catches the light. While not an everyday make up item, this will be absolutely gorgeous for nights out, especially in the summer when I get a bit of colour in my face! None of the photos I took quite do justice to Sophisticated, which is a little lighter than it appears here, but not quite as light as the bottle appears. It’s a mushroomy, taupey, slight pink-leaning neutral that is simply stunning on pale skin – similar to Urban Decay’s Sidecar, although less glittery.

Because of the formula of the Emotional Brilliance range, it’s easy to apply these either thickly, as shown above, or to blend them out into a quieter colour. Sophisticated in particular is very pretty blended out over the lid, and applied slightly thicker in the outside corner, creating a gradient with itself. I can see myself wearing this one on a day-to-day basis!

Have you tried anything from the Emotional Brilliance range?

Asha x

Keep in touch by following me!

Bloglovin’ | Facebook | Twitter

Disclaimer: I received “Sophisticated” in my #OxMeet goodie bag; this has not influenced my opinion, and all thoughts are entirely my own.

22 thoughts on “Review: Lush Emotional Brilliance in Sophisticated* and Fantasy

  1. I’ve seen these at the shops before but I was afraid that they would be really difficult to apply (they come with droppers don’t they?) but these colours are gorgeous! ❤ I think I may 'just have to' have a closer look at them next time I'm at Lush!

    • They don’t have droppers, they either come with a little doe foot applicator or a thin eyeliner brush, depending on what they think the colour would be best for! So they’re no more difficult to apply than normal lipgloss, or eyeshadow with a brush, plus you can just pat the applicator on your finger if that suits 🙂 Definitely take a look!

  2. Wonderful! I really want to try their range. I used to buy foundation from their sister company that went under; B Never Too Busy To Be Beautifu – so I think that their foundation is probably a carry over or similar.

    I love both the shades you’ve shown here, such rich colour 🙂

Say hello - it'll make my day!

