Review: Eye Of Horus Jewel Amethyst Goddess Pencil*

From the moment you see this Eye of Horus box, you know you’re going to be in for a treat. Look at the luxurious black and gold packaging! I love the Ancient Egyptian theme they’ve got going on, and it’s done in a very sleek and swish fashion, while still being fun and original. This is the Jewel Amethyst Goddess Pencil*, which is perfectly in line with the Egyptian theme, what with all the kohl they wore. 

Always nice to see a bit of colour-coding, to make it easier to pick the right colour out of your many eyeliners (if you’re anything like me)!

This dual-ended eyeliner comes with a soft, creamy pencil tip, and a sponge smudger, and continues the black and gold luxury. I don’t have much use for a smudger, since I prefer a neat line for my eyes, but this is a high quality one, very soft. The pencil itself is a gorgeous deep purple, with visible glitter even in the nib! My one complaint about the packaging is that the lid at the pencil end is extremely hard to get off, and when I pulled it, I managed to squish the tip of the pencil. I imagine this will loosen up with time, though.

The Jewel Amethyst Pencil is extremely pretty. The royal purple base contains lots of pink glitter, which isn’t too noticeable on your eyes (as it is here), but adds a real depth and uniqueness to the colour. Pigmentation is okay, but you may need to go over your lines more than once to build it up to something really striking. Application is good; the pencil is smudgeable for a little while, but then sets and doesn’t seem to travel too far, even after a day’s wear. The formula is not quite as good as the Urban Decay 24/7 Pencils, but it comes a very, very close second.

Excuse my otherwise un-made-up face, and inability to take close-ups without including camera bits, but this is what a quick line of the Jewel Amethyst Pencil looks like. It’s a very pretty pop of colour, without being anything too striking or weird-looking, and it really brings out the green in my hazel eyes.

Overall, I’m really impressed with Eye of Horus’ eyeliner formula, and I hope to pick up several other Goddess Pencils to add to my collection – I love the look of Emerald and Bronze Amulet! If you fancy one, you can find them online here for £13, which I don’t think is too unreasonable for this quality, even if it is a little more than the high street.Asha x

Disclaimer: I received this Eye of Horus Jewel Amethyst Goddess Pencil in my #Oxmeet goody bag, but this hasn’t influenced my review!

Keep in touch by following me!

Bloglovin’ | Facebook | Twitter

13 thoughts on “Review: Eye Of Horus Jewel Amethyst Goddess Pencil*

Say hello - it'll make my day!

