Review: Fake Don’t Bake Fake Natural Look Tanning Cream*

A fact for you: I am very, very pale.

When I was younger, I was totally nut-brown, but as I’ve grown up, I’ve had to accept that I’ve become a pale ghosty. I actually quite like it, but that doesn’t stop me experimenting from time to time with fake tan, to try and lose some of that Tippex glow on my legs.

It rarely works – so how did the Fake Don’t Bake Natural Tanning Cream* fare?

First impressions were very good – this has the texture of a body cream, which makes it really easy to rub in, and because the cream itself is white, I wasn’t paranoid about it going everywhere. The best bit is that it smells like pineapple! Seriously, that one fact makes it so much nicer than most fake tans, straight away. After about a day, though, you do get the usual horrible biscuit smell. I suppose it must be unavoidable. This didn’t stain my hands at all, though, which I was impressed with.

I originally applied it just to one leg, for easy comparison. You don’t get any colour on application, and in fact it takes about ten hours to show up, which it does instantaneously – poof! This led to me concluding, after six hours, that it wasn’t going to take on my legs, and heading out without applying any tan to the other leg. Slightly awkward when I then realised I’d been walking around like half an Oompa Loompa! Oh, the things I do for you, readers…

Please excuse the awkward photo; it’s surprisingly difficult to photograph your own legs!

Obviously, my right leg is the tanned one, and it’s actually a fairly natural colour – a little orange-y at first, but it did die down to a more natural brown after one night. As you can see, however, it is streaky as all get-out. The below photo, taken a couple of days later after I’d tanned my left leg too, shows you how badly it took on my feet and ankles. I know I applied it as evenly as I could, but without a guide colour, it’s very difficult to see, and the delay in colour appearing makes it very difficult to fix mistakes accurately.

I will say one thing – Fake Don’t Bake is extremely tenacious. If you get it right, this is an excellent thing, as it will easily last you for a week’s holiday without re-application. If you get it wrong, like I did, you’ll be scrubbing at your legs for days before you can get it off.

I think opinions on this will vary, depending on whether you like fake tan or not. For me, it’s not worth the hassle – I’d rather just stay pale. But, if you’re willing to be patient with it, this is a good, easy to use fake tan that will last you well. Plus it’s extremely cheap!

Are you a fake tan aficionado, or a ghosty like me?

Asha x

Keep in touch by following me!

Bloglovin’ | Facebook | Twitter

Disclaimer: I received Fake Don’t Bake Natural Tanning Cream in my #Oxmeet goody bag, but this hasn’t influenced my review!

8 thoughts on “Review: Fake Don’t Bake Fake Natural Look Tanning Cream*

  1. I haven’t used this brand… but I find I like the kinds that come in towelettes the best for getting an even application.

Say hello - it'll make my day!

