April/May Empties!

So I didn’t do an empties post last month, but I’ve collected plenty of stuff to show you since my last post! I’ve been collecting it all in my cute Oxmeet tote bag from The Blogger Programme – much more stylish to have on the bathroom door handle than a plastic bag! Shall we get going?

First things first, I used up my huge bottle of Lush Rose Jam shower gel – I loved this so much, as you might have been able to tell from the excitement when I got it… Still, a 500ml bottle is a big bottle of shower gel, so I was quite glad to finish this, just so I could start something newer. Sadly, it was limited edition, but who knows, it might be back at Lush some day. I also finished up this Lush Olive Branch shower gel, which was in the Ray of Sunshine gift set I got for my birthday. This is a lovely unisex scent, very fresh with a hint of musk, and it was lovely for kickstarting a sunny day!

A couple of basics next! Johnson and Johnson’s Baby Powder – it’s always good to have a bit of talcum powder to hand. I bought some Superdrug Coconut Oil to use as a hair mask, because my hair is always really dry and loves conditioning treatments. However, my hair hated this, and went horribly greasy when I used it, so I’ve used it for shaving with. It’s okay, but I wouldn’t repurchase it.

I got to a point last term where I’d run out of all my bubble-making Lush stuff, believe it or not! This bottle of Radox Eastern Spirit Bubble Bath was on offer for something silly like £1, so I got it just to add to bath bombs to make sure there were some bubbles! It had a lovely light floral scent, and I’d happily repurchase it! The Nip + Fab Circulation Fix Scrub* was a really nice body scrub, as you’ll see from my recent review. I particularly liked the eucalyptus scent – so refreshing!

Now for some perfume! This bottle of Milton Lloyd DNA perfume was a Christmas present, and it was a gorgeous deep, musky evening scent. Very elegant, and very wearable! I received this sample of Christopher Wicks English Laundry For Her* in the March Birchbox, and liked it, but didn’t really think it was anything special – just your standard floral… I’m sad to see the end of this tiny little bottle of Lush B Scent, a lemon and aniseed perfume that was just so perfect for spring. I’m amazed it lasted as long as it did, though! I might have to repurchase this one in the future.

Moisturisers! The Mitchell and Peach English Growers Body Cream* was a nice thick cream with an interesting honey and lavender smell, which I really liked to begin with, but began to find overpowering before long. The Ted Baker hand cream, which I got for Christmas, was a seriously gorgeous scented cream which sank in very well, and moisturised without being greasy. I love this scent from Ted Baker. Finally, the Caudalie Nourishing Body Lotion* – this might be the most lovely thing I’ve ever smelled! I can’t work out what it smells of, but I love it. It’s like a sunny countryside day. If you know, please enlighten me!

Face products next, including a couple of rare bits of make up! I’ve raved about the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation enough for you to know that I’ve loved using it, but I’ve actually been changing up my base recently – I just use primer, concealer and powder to even my skintone, but other than that, I’m leaving my skin bare of foundation. I favour the Rimmel Stay Matte Translucent Powder, because it’s cheap and effective!

I really enjoyed using the Urban Veda Radiance Exfoliating Facial Polish*, which had a lovely smell, and was pretty scrubby, but it wasn’t quite good enough to divert me from my Holy Grail St Ives. I’m really glad to see the back of the Body Shop Born Lippy Stick in Plum, which was great to start out with, but you know how lip balms always get a bit mangy and melty just before you finish them? I can’t bear that stage, and I’m always thrilled when they’re done! This was a nice, lightly flavoured balm, though, and I liked the sheer berry tint it gave.

In the nail section, I finished up a bottle of Jessica Critical Care treatment, which is a clear treatment polish that has stopped my nails from peeling and cracking. It’s really expensive, but totally worth it. I’ve already got a new bottle! In the background are a few colours I’ve cleared out of my nail polish stash – no point keeping polishes I don’t wear!

And finally, some sample-y bits! I loved the Crabtree and Evelyn Pear and Pink Magnolia body lotion*. This has a seriously gorgeous fresh floral scent, and was very moisturising, if a tiny bit sticky. I’ll definitely be checking out more from this range! You’ve seen from my review that I was very impressed with the Argan Dew haircare* – I only put one of each sachet into my empties bag, but I’ve really enjoyed using these samples. If you have thick hair that needs a lot of moisture, you will love these. The little sample of Lush Olive Branch shower gel came in my birthday parcel, so I just added it to the bottle!

I’m glad I got the chance to try some of the Neal’s Yard skincare range thanks to #Oxmeet, but not a lot of it suited me. I can’t bear the scent of the Rejuvenating Frankincense Facial Serum*, Hydrating Cream* or Facial Oil*, but all were very nice products, if a little on the heavy side. I think they’d suit dry skin, and someone who doesn’t mind very strong scents. I did, however, love the Rose Facial Oil* – I’d never used a facial oil before, but this smelled gorgeous and left my skin glowing after I used it.

And that’s it for me and my empties – as always, link me up to your posts, I’d love to see! 🙂Asha x

Keep in touch by following me!

Bloglovin’ | Facebook | Twitter

Disclaimer: I received some of these items in my #Oxmeet goody bag, but this hasn’t influenced my review!

12 thoughts on “April/May Empties!

  1. I love reading empties post because you know they must be great products for you to use them all up.
    I’m so glad to have found your blog, I have a place at Oxford for September so it’s good to know there’s like-minded people there.
    I look forward to reading your future posts
    xx
    http://dreamsof-newyork.blogspot.co.uk

  2. Wow, lots of empties here! Just thought you might like to know – I’m not sure if you remember but on my blog you recommended Revlon Lip Butters to me a while ago?! I am loving them! Thank you! x

Say hello - it'll make my day!

