Review: Ojon Restorative Hair Treatment

I have no idea why I haven’t reviewed this miracle product for you before! Ojon Damage Reverse Restorative Hair Treatment is an unusual deep conditioning hair mask. Solid at room temperature, you melt this between your palms before rubbing it into your hair for a really thick, feel-good treatment.

P1010322P1010315

The positives:

  • Er… soft, silky, lovely hair count as a positive? This stuff is amazing. It really helps to revitalise my very dry, fluffy hair and the effects are lasting, rather than just impressive in the moment.

The negatives:

  • The price. I was lucky enough to receive this as a birthday present, but it works out pretty pricey considering how much you need to use to saturate your hair. I have quite long, thick hair, and would estimate I could get six full head applications from this pot, or more if I just used it as a scalp/ends treatment. Ojon’s not a cheap brand, and this retails for around £30 for 100ml.
  • The smell – if you don’t like the smell, be warned, it’s very strong, and it sticks around for a couple of days. I really like it (it’s a sort of coffee-y, cocoa-y, musky scent) but others hate it.
  • The messiness. Because you have to heat this in your hands, it gets a bit everywhere. You can’t do this quickly – you need time and space and the power not to use your hands for about 20 minutes! I had to get Boyfriend to take pictures of me doing this, because no way was this stuff going near my camera!

Okay, so this looks like one positive versus three negatives, but WAIT! Perfect hair, for me, outweighs all the negatives.

Yes. Perfect Hair.

Want to see how it’s done?

P1010296

So, you scoop a little out with the back of the comb it comes with…

P1010299

Rub it gently in your hands until it melts…

P1010308

Once it’s all melted and your hands are covered with oil, just stroke it through your hair. Yeah, kind of disgusting looking. But it’s actually really fun to melt it! No pictures of my hair all slicked back, because come on, that’s just not what you want to see!

As I say, I think that the Ojon Damage Reverse Restorative Hair Treatment is actually too pricey for me to buy regularly, but it’ll be a definite fixture on my wishlist from now on, and I’d definitely consider purchasing it for a special occasion.

Have you tried anything from Ojon? I really really want to try the Rare Blend Oil – I love hair oils, and it’s stripy!

Asha x

One thought on “Review: Ojon Restorative Hair Treatment

  1. Pingback: November Empties! | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!