End of Term Hauling, Part One: Superdrug

I’m at home! I’ve left the dreaming spires behind for some real dreaming (ie, sleeping like the dead for a week to make up for term time). And of course, since leaving Oxford feels like leaving civilisation, I did some shopping before I came down. And then found some more beauty bits waiting for me. And then did a little bit of book shopping once I got home.

I’m going to be putting myself on an unnecessary beauty spending ban for July, while I save up for a ticket to Green Man festival in August, so these are the last few bits and bobs I’ll be getting for a little while.

Today, then, I’ll show you my haul from Superdrug. Tomorrow, it’ll be what I stocked up on from Lush. Saturday, you can see what was waiting for me when I got home, and then on Sunday, for the Book Nook, my book buys.

P1010053This is thanks to running out of powder, looking for an alternative to Lush’s Aqua Marina, and a tempting Bourjois offer…

P1010060

I’ve been enjoying using a face wash in the shower in the mornings.

What a strange sentence. I never thought I’d write that. To qualify, I’ve always hated getting my face wet, to the extent that I keep a towel hanging over the shower door when I wash my hair so that I never have to bear the feeling of my face getting wet for more than a couple of seconds. Yes, I dry my face while in the shower.

So yes, I’ve always used a no water cleanser for actually cleansing in the evenings (and St Ives on hair-wash days, when the towel is to hand). Long story short, when my skin started to get a little oily recently, I was offered a sample of a face wash in Lush, to use in the mornings. So off I bumbled with my Aqua Marina, and started to get my face wet in the mornings.

And the wet bit is not that bad… Except that I think that Aqua Marina smells like tuna, and that’s not really what you want to experience in the morning! I thought this Garnier Soft Essentials Cream Wash looked nice, and it was all of £3.50, so I grabbed it. Disappointingly, it doesn’t smell like rose, like it implies, but it’s nice enough, and doesn’t leave my skin feeling tight.

P1010055Next up, a couple of make up buys. I thought I’d try Rimmel Stay Matte Transparent Powder (£3.99) to see if it was as good as all the hype says, and so far, so good. I also picked up a Bourjois Little Round Pot Blush in Cendre de Rose Brune (Rose Cinders) as part of a 3 for 2 on Bourjois. I really like the other colour of this blush that I own, I like the packaging, and the tiny brush, and I had been lusting after this colour for a little while – not bad for a free product!

P1010056 P1010058

The main things I wanted to get in the 3 for 2 were these Bourjois Colour Boost Lipsticks, which seem like a cross between the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains (my favourites) and the Revlon Lip Butters. These are slightly softer than the Balm Stains, and slightly harder than the Lip Butters, which is great, and they seem to have good pigmentation. I picked up 01 Red Sunrise and 02 Fuchsia Libre, and I’m liking them so far – I’ll review them properly in a bit, when I’ve taken them for a proper test drive, so watch this space! These were £7.99 each.

P1010061To put a second cherry on the 3 for 2 cake, Bourjois was offering a free pair of sunglasses when you bought any three products. I’ve been looking for a new pair of sunglasses for a little while (or indeed, my old sunglasses – where are youuu?) and liked these as much as any I’d seen, so I’m immensely happy with this offer!

All in all, a nice little beauty haul! What do you think of any of these? Will you be taking advantage of the Bourjois offer?

Asha x

5 thoughts on “End of Term Hauling, Part One: Superdrug

  1. Ooh I really like the look of those Bourjois lipcrayons – looking forward to seeing your review. I don’t envy moving back and forth from University but I do miss the long summers despite working at a University, we don’t get them 😦
    Hope you manage to catch up on sleep!
    xx

    • Haha, I’m getting there – I look less like a zombie already!
      It’s really sad to think that this might be my last summer break – my boyfriend is a teacher, so he’ll still get six weeks off, and I’m a bit jealous!
      They’re really nice, but not as similar to the Just Bitten Balm Stains as I thought they’d be… Going to be an interesting one to review…

  2. Pingback: End of Term Hauling, Part Two: Lush | The Oxford Owl

  3. Pingback: End of Term Hauling, Part Three: The Body Shop | The Oxford Owl

  4. Pingback: End of Term Hauling, Part Four: Books (Sunday Book Nook #5) | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!