Review: Superdrug Coconut and Almond Conditioner

I go through conditioner like there’s no tomorrow, so I’m always up for seeking out cheap but effective brands. I usually stick with Alberto Balsam, which you can usually find for £1 a bottle, but my tiny local Superdrug was completely out – so I decided to try this, since it was only 99p. Well played, Superdrug.

P1010423

I’ve mentioned before that I’m not the biggest fan of coconut scents, but this is actually quite a sweet, almondy scent, not too overpoweringly coconutty. The scent actually doesn’t linger too long, and has vanished once my hair is totally dry, which suits me perfectly.

I had actually tried this before, in a mini bottle from the gym, and was impressed by the softness it gave to my hair. This is a really gorgeous thick formula, thicker than some deep conditioners I’ve tried, and it smooths through your hair very easily, making it super quick to comb through (even with the tangle-nest that is my hair). I’d say this tames my hair to an average degree, maybe a little bit more than Alberto Balsam  – no miracles, but good enough for frequent use.

P1010428

The pump looked like it would be handy in limiting how quickly I went through it, but in reality I just pumped it about twenty times to get the amount I wanted – not so useful then. I expect I’ll get about 8 washes out of this bottle, which is about fair, and for 99p you really can’t go wrong! I’d definitely buy this again, perhaps when I want something a little thicker than my usual conditioner…

Do you have any recommendations for cheap, effective conditioner? I’m glad I’ve added this to my haircare arsenal, but I’m always on the lookout for more options!

Asha x

6 thoughts on “Review: Superdrug Coconut and Almond Conditioner

    • Oh, I didn’t know that! That’s a fantastic thing, I’ll have to try more than them – makes you think, though, if they can do cruelty-free so cheaply, why is there such a premium on some other brands?

  1. Pingback: September Empties! | The Oxford Owl

  2. Pingback: November Empties! | The Oxford Owl

Say hello - it'll make my day!